Leaving the scene of an accident
It is important to know what your rights and responsibilities are in New York hit-and-run accidents. The following are questions that people frequently ask.
What are considered New York hit-and-run accidents?
A hit-and-run accident occurs when one of the parties leaves the scene of the accident without exchanging information with the other party. This is true even when the party leaving the accident scene did not cause the accident.
What are the penalties in New York for leaving an accident scene?
Leaving the accident scene is a serious offense in New York. You could spend up to 15 days in jail and pay a fine of up to $250 if injuries and damage were minor. If there were substantial injuries you could receive up to one year in jail for leaving the accident scene. Refusal to provide insurance information could result in spending three months in jail. If there are injuries, fines could reach $5,000.
The DMV also imposes penalties. If there are no injuries or minor injuries, the DMV will add three points to your driver’s license record. In addition, license revocation may extend to one year.
What does the law require you to do if you are in an accident?
You must stop at the accident scene to find out if anyone was injured or if there was damage. Sharing your contact and insurance information with the other driver is mandatory by law. If a serious injury or death occurs, call 911. Also call if vehicle damage appears to be more than $1500.
When do you have to file an accident report?
If the accident resulted in no injuries and less than $1,000 damage, you do not have to call the police or file an accident report.
If the accident damages include injuries and/or more than $1,000 in damages, you must file a report with the DMV within 10 days. The damage figure of $1,000 refers to the damage of both vehicles involved. If there are injuries or fatality, you must notify the police right away. You and the other driver must file a report with the DMV.
Do you need legal help with a hit-and-run accident?
When someone else’s negligence seriously harms you, you should seek legal help. If you or the police were able to track down the person who hit you, we can investigate the accident. If they were negligent, we will help you sue for damages. To arrange a free consultation, contact the Law Office of John Fazzini. Call us at (631) 547-8989 or reach out to us through our contact form.